Unit 8 // Task 6 // Written Reflective Journal

I will be producing an evaluation talking about the pre-production work I have completed that I have used for my Netflix pilot that me and my group created.

First, we practiced coming up with a 25 word pitch and then made our own presentation individually to help us for the actual presentation we made in groups, I made my presentation and a class member filmed me presenting it and developing my ideas. After that, we were put into groups and we each had to come up with a story (pilot). Once we each made our own proposals and stories, we then picked one from the group and made a PowerPoint presentation talking about the storyline and what will be included in our final major project Netflix Series.

The task was to make an upcoming Netflix series to show and demonstrate the conventions of film making for example camera angles, shots, lighting, sound etc. This gave me an opportunity to take in everything that I have learnt throughout this course and put it into this video, applying my knowledge and skills of camera shots/angles and why they are needed in every film making process as well as understanding how to use it wisely in my own video.

My camera and editing skills have improved throughout this year as I have had more experience using different cameras and understanding the different shot types and how to make my film seem realistic and effective by my improved editing skills.

I found it easier doing the pre-production work first and then the filming as it helped my group work together much quicker and we all agreed on everything. That way we also knew exactly what to do with no misunderstandings or arguments during filming. We have made a couple of changes as a group to some of our work which I have shown evidence of in my tasks to show clearly the changes we made for our fmp.

The secondary research helped me collect data quicker and align the focus of the primary research. I noticed the information I was looking for was already available through the secondary resources which made it much more easier for me.

The primary research was very useful as it helped me know who my target audience was mainly aimed at, I made a questionnaire asking 10 questions to help me understand different peoples opinions and perspectives on horror movies (as my genre was horror) so we added a sound effect that made the video seem scary. We did not add graphic scenes as people from the questionnaire said they prefer not to see it and because our target audience (age) was mainly 17/18 year olds who are underage.

For our cast, we added a few more people from different groups to help us as we needed extra actors. We picked people with good acting skills who will not mess around. The effectiveness of our risk assessment helped us be safe and were not at risk.

The mind map helped brainstorm our ideas on what we should include for our film and the same with our mood board. The storyboard helped us know the different scenes we needed to film and the locations along with the script.

The props made our video much more realistic and effective as our genre was horror so we used props to show who the protagonist and antagonist is without introducing who the characters are.

Our production schedule helped give us ideas on what we needed to add. The call sheet and location recess helped see what places are good for our idea to film and to show information about the cast and the settings.

We did not really need costume for our film as we only needed casual normal everyday clothes as it fits well with our theme. We had to film twice so therefore we told Lorik to wear the same outfit on both days so it looks realistic.

The roles and responsibilities of having everyone doing different things was straight forward as no one argued about who they want to be.

We also made a budget form including everything we have or have not payed for, we only spent money on travel and getting to the location which was the college. We were meant to buy some face masks however we changed our minds as we did not think it would make sense or fit the idea of a specific scene.

Overall, my strengths were working with my group and getting everything done on time, also it improved my acting skills and confidence. My weakness was not planning everything properly at first as we had to make changes to a few things which slowed us down.

I enjoyed working on this unit as I had the opportunity to show people the work I do and work hard to meet the deadlines, it also helped me improve a lot of things like my editing and acting skills, camera work and paperwork.

Leave a comment