Unit 7 // Task 3 Reflective Journal

For this unit, I was asked to produce an online portfolio which will showcase my skills to the job that I want to pursue in the future which is photography. The first task I was required to do was to research social networking sites and then compare and evaluate how they are used by the audiences and institutions to deliver information. I created a survey using google forms and asked 10 different questions to do with social media and I sent it to 6 people to answer them. After that I researched into social networks, websites and promotional videos and I answered the questions that are on the brief. The second task I was required to do was to do with the planning and production, I first planned my website and the things I will be including in it for example the site map, layout ideas, mock designs etc. Then I made my own website which I uploaded on my WordPress and I also created a Facebook page which includes my website and the audio I made about the gallery that I visited.

It is important to have an online presence as it is very important for any type of businesses because it has an impact on the way the producers make purchase decisions. It is one of the most important and relevant investments that any business can produce and make.

The strengths of my online portfolio is that it has a good amount of images that I took myself and I also like the colour scheme as it is very colourful and bright which will be eye catching for the audience and won’t bore them with dull colours. I also like how everything is laid out in my website for example the images on the first page of the website is in one row so therefore the audience would not have to worry about looking for them as they are all on the same page.

The weaknesses of my online portfolio is that I did not add enough information therefore the audience won’t understand or learn as much about my website and the purpose of it.

I will be comparing my website to an online similar website that I found which is called Matt Bites. In my website, the navigation layout is at the bottom of the page however on Matts website it is at the top of the page which is better as the audience will see it first and won’t have to look for it. Furthermore, the colours in my website are more appealing than in Matts website as he has a white background and a green bar on the right side of the page, however mine is covered in nude pink and my logo is in bright pink which will catch the audiences attention as it will not be boring and dull for them to look at. In my opinion, I think Matt has used too many images in his website which the audience are not likely to look at as it is too much with not much information about them, in comparison to my website I only used a few images in order for my website to make sense and not look rushed or confusing. For a similarity, both our websites do not include a lot of information which is not useful for the audience as they will not know what the website is about or what the purpose of it is.

http://mattbites.com

For the feedback, I did not get audiences responses to my website however I got some from my social media questionnaire which is posted on my WordPress, my feedback on it is that the responses were not bad but some of them were not answered properly or made sense. Overall the responses for the questionnaire were alright.

Leave a comment