Unit 8 // Initial Idea Proposal

Title: Love runs out.

My 25 word pitch: Their time together is limited thanks to their ‘friend’, once it hits 5pm, they have to be home before their heartbeat starts to slow down.

My story line: Two people in love, Jacob and Rachel. Live their life every day based on time and nothing else, when they plan to meet up all they can think about is what the time is and if it has hit 5pm yet. An evil guy named Damon, he pretends to care for them when in reality, he is behind all of this. On their 1 year anniversary, everything changes,  Damon decides to change their time limit to 3:30pm. However, they do not know about this change, or the fact that it is their ‘friend’ that is behind this. They go out on a date thinking they have until 5pm to enjoy their anniversary, once it reaches 3;00pm they feel the ground shaking and their hearts aching. This is when their world changes and they start losing theirselves, and each other.

Characters and Details: For the characters, I will be using Brad Pitt playing the character of Jacob and Angelina Jolie as Rachel. I chose Brad Pitta as he is very well known and he usually plays a role in romantic movies which makes him a good character in my pilot Netflix series. For the evil character Damon, I chose Will Smith as without a antagonist the movie will not be as good or interesting for the audience, also because he is a very well known actor and a good one. I chose Angelina Jolie as she is also very popular and will suit my genre very well. Both of them are Protagonists however, Damon is the Antagonist.

Locations and Location details: I will be filming this in different places for example at the park, in a restaurant and in a cinema. In the park, they will be walking around and having a conversation and the scene will always end with them rushing back home in every location that they are in. At the restaurant they will be sitting on a table eating some food and enjoying the short amount of time that they have. At the cinema they will be watching a movie together and eating popcorn.

My opening scene: My opening scene will be straight to the point by introducing the characters and there will be a voice over explaining the story line quickly as the scenes will be shown in the background. I will be introducing the protagonists first as they are the main characters and then slowly bringing up their problem. After that I will be showing quick scenes of Jacob and Rachel out on dates in 3 different locations, this will show what the genre of the series in a very simple way.

Genre & Target Audience: My genre is Romance and horror, I chose these genres as to me they are both easy genres to write a pilot Netflix series about and it will attract the audience more as there will be love, drama and horror scenes involved. My target audience will be 17+ year olds as it is not very suitable for younger kids and will be more interesting for both teenagers and adults as love is something we all relate to and the mystery behind it will attract them more.

USP and intended aim with the film: The unique selling point is that my series is very relatable but also unique as not many people that have a significant other live their life based on time and fear of not getting home at a specific time. Therefore this will attract the audience and makes them want to watch it and share it with their friends and family if they enjoy it. The aim with he film is to make a pilot for the upcoming Netflix series.

Themes: The message of my film is to not easily trust anyone you meet and to be careful who you hang around with as people can do something that will ruin your life and your loved one.

Why your film is needed: My film is needed also to show people that you cannot trust everyone you know especially in your personal love life.

Leave a comment